Virginia Rules & Regulations
Virginia Rules & Regulations covers a broad range of issues related to Virginia real estate rules and regulations to help students complete required continuing education course work.Our introductory lesson will discuss details of license renewal in Virginia. Going full circle, well look at renewal from the perspective of an active broker or salesperson, an inactive broker or salesperson, and the board. Well also be looking at what to do when reinstatement is required and what could trigger disciplinary action.Moving on to our second lesson, we will look at various areas of maintenance as it relates to the Virginia real estate industry. As with most businesses, keeping up with records and files is essential to the success of a real estate firm or proprietorship. Well be looking at maintaining proper care of licenses, offices, escrow accounts, and financial records. The business dealings of licensees are regulated in an effort to ensure that all parties to transactions in real estate, both you and your clients, are protected and held responsible for being professional. The third lesson looks at the ways in which we should handle our business dealings. The bulk of this course will instruct the student on how to deal with a mélange of real estate practices in Virginia. In the fourth lesson, students are going to learn about what NOT to do. We will investigate what constitutes improper practices and legal violations. And the final lesson will try to tie together everything the student has learned. The student will be presented with case studies and practice problems that will test their knowledge and application of the course material.
Requirements for Completing Virginia Rules & Regulations
There are three important steps to completing a course:
- Complete ALL lessons in the course by answering each question correctly at least twice. Most questions are timed and need to be answered within the prescribed time for credit. A lesson is not complete until it is checked off on the main menu.
- Once you have completed the lessons on the computer, you must submit a signed “Student Affidavit” that you personally completed the entire course yourself. Under state law, this Affidavit must be received before a Course Completion Certificate can be issued or your course completion can be electronically reported to your state (if applicable).
- If a final exam is required, you must schedule a proctored exam (or take an online exam if available in your state) and pass the exam (please see “State Requirements” page for the specific passing score required in your state.) (The “Course Available” page will indicate which courses require a final exam, and whether they require a proctor or are available online.)
Once these three steps have been completed, we will issue a Course Completion Certificate or electronically report your course completion to your state (if applicable).
Getting Credit for Completion of Virginia Rules & Regulations
You may have up to two opportunities to pass the exam (depending on your states guidelines). Once all course requirements are completed, you will be issued a Course Completion Certificate or your course completion will be electronically reported to your state (if applicable). It will be mailed to you via the U.S. Mail. The Certificate will be placed in the mail within 3-5 business days after you have satisfied all course requirements.
Renewal Deadlines: Every 2 years in the month of licensure. Click here for Regulator Website