Alabama Prelicense Fundamentals
Alabama Prelicense Fundamentals begins by introducing the student to various types of real estate careers, activities, companies, and governmental agencies that regulate the industry. Then the course explores property rights, forms of ownership, property restrictions, and zoning. Students will learn the mathematical calculations and formulas commonly used in the real estate industry. The course provides an overview of agency relationships, contract law, property transfers, listing agreements, and deeds as well as environmental issues that licensees may encounter. The general prelicense section ends with an exploration of loans and the loan process, leasing, appraisal methods, and fair housing laws. The Alabama license law section examines state laws governing real estate licensing, licensee conduct, and the organization and duties of the Alabama Real Estate Commission. Students will learn about the requirements for securing and maintaining a license, the real estate-related activities that require a license, and the responsibilities of a qualifying broker. This course provides an overview of the Alabama Real Estate Consumers Agency and Disclosure Act (RECAD) and the Real Estate Recovery Fund, as well as violations of Alabama License Law and Commission Rules, the disciplinary action process, penalties for licensees, and the appropriate way to handle trust funds.
Requirements for Completing Alabama Prelicense Fundamentals
There are three important steps to completing a course:
- Complete ALL lessons in the course by answering each question correctly at least twice. Most questions are timed and need to be answered within the prescribed time for credit. A lesson is not complete until it is checked off on the main menu.
- Once you have completed the lessons on the computer, you must submit a signed “Student Affidavit” that you personally completed the entire course yourself. Under state law, this Affidavit must be received before a Course Completion Certificate can be issued or your course completion can be electronically reported to your state (if applicable).
- If a final exam is required, you must schedule a proctored exam (or take an online exam if available in your state) and pass the exam (please see “State Requirements” page for the specific passing score required in your state.) (The “Course Available” page will indicate which courses require a final exam, and whether they require a proctor or are available online.)
Once these three steps have been completed, we will issue a Course Completion Certificate or electronically report your course completion to your state (if applicable).
Getting Credit for Completion of Alabama Prelicense Fundamentals
You may have up to two opportunities to pass the exam (depending on your states guidelines). Once all course requirements are completed, you will be issued a Course Completion Certificate or your course completion will be electronically reported to your state (if applicable). It will be mailed to you via the U.S. Mail. The Certificate will be placed in the mail within 3-5 business days after you have satisfied all course requirements.
Renewal Deadlines: Every 2 years from date of licensure. Click here for Regulator Website